Off Topic Tuesday: The Blogging Format

I’ve seen it said that long form blog posts seems to be a misuse of the medium. People don’t subscribe to blogs to get long diatribes, or at least I don’t, and it’s been my immediate experience that the longer my posts are, the less likely it is that people read them. Perhaps it’s simply the nature of writing and reading on the internet.

And it isn’t just word fatigue; blogging is probably more given to short blurbs than anything else. The realm of essays is elsewhere, in some unattainable place. And that is what I have realized**; that I wanted to write essays, and not blog posts that necessitate a condensation of my thoughts and style. I don’t always excel with condensed writing, because I am a verbose mother fucker.

On the other hand, this revelation brought me to a different conclusion, in that I can still deliver content through the blogging medium. I can expand my role playing content, speak my mind in more indirect and succinct ways, and dither on about topics that don’t call upon the passionate belly fire that fuels my need to write, which brings us to this very blog post.

So Tuesdays now are for my personal off topic rants, like this one. I won’t do one every Tuesday, just like I might skip an occasional Monday Mayhem, or Wednesday World Building***, but the format suits me, and in time I will be delighted to have a good group of tags that challenge me as a game writer while helping me to keep my offerings organized.

My hope is to keep these all under 500 words, and I think that so far it is working. I’m not writing any sweeping oeuvres of writing (yet), but this format keeps me happy at least. It also keeps me focused in a weird “writing prompt” kind of way that is probably more suited to the RPG industry. It could be worse, after all; it could be 140 characters.

*I wish that they were called blurbs and not blogs. A more apt desctiption….
**Achievement unlocked; two uses of a semicolon in one paragraph.
*** A spoiler for tomorrow’s format.

3 thoughts on “Off Topic Tuesday: The Blogging Format

  1. Mrs Fever November 3, 2015 / 9:45 am

    I’ve had this discussion with Nate (from whose blog post I followed your gravatar link to here) and a few others before, but I tend to have a different experience regarding length of posts. Looked at interms of “most viewed,” my most popular blog posts are all 1,000 words or more. And I regularly read posts on other blogs of the same length. So I wonder if it is a matter of content – as in technical or specialty compared to something else – that makes the 500 word “rule” applicable? Or is it some other factor? Or am I an anomoly? (I do not believe this to be the case.)

    I also question whether its generation (i.e., age) of readership, and whether tie-ins to other social media outlets actually cater to people with shorter attention spans.

    Perhaps I will conduct a survey and see what is happening with people in my community. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lorathorn November 3, 2015 / 9:50 am

      I can’t say for sure, but I know that my longer post had more philosophy and less gaming content. That’s part of the change that I’m really trying to make. Whether I can philosophize in under 500 words (not that I’d want to) or write posts with gaming content that are more than 500 words, I think the question is less about attention span and more about content delivery, as you say. I don’t know how attention span affects it specifically, but I think that people are more willing to comment when the posts are shorter. Maybe it feels more like a dialogue that way.

      Like

      • Mrs Fever November 3, 2015 / 10:56 am

        I have to think about your ‘feels like a dialogue’ proposition a bit, in terms of post length. I know my more popular longer posts tend to garner more commentary than my average short, but I think there’s a common thread (or four) to be pulled there, as to the reasoning.

        […hmmm…]

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

