Lame “next week I promise” post

Hi everyone,

The few of you that read this blog might have been disappointed that I did not post this week.

I was doing pretty good for a while as far as keeping my schedule, but this week just fell through. Rather than just chalk it up to a bad week, I thought that I would write a brief something to at least inform you that I have not been entirely dormant.

I have been writing! Just not for this blog, and not even for Diem Mundi, but I shall soon return to the mini-setting as well as some insights into game design. Within the week, I should also be adding more reviews, and updating the mini-setting tab with additional information (including a much needed society section added to the fox folk).

For now, I want to extend my thanks to Raging Swan for helping me to run a most excellent 5th edition campaign. Although I will try not to sound like an infomercial, their array of products have helped tremendously with my prep time. If you do any sort of fantasy role playing, please see their patreon page, and give some support. You won’t be sorry that you did.

Raging Swan Patreon page

Also, I must share with you that part of my writing has been for some projects at Fat Goblin Games. There are some exciting new things coming in the next few months, including more Call to Arms guides, more Astonishing Race guides, more Vathak support  in the form of three new core rule books, and much more! With luck, I will soon be posting about the projects to which I’ve contributed.

Fat Goblin Games

If you’ve had enough of me selling you on these companies, I will leave you with something more thoughtful.

homer D&D

As I continue to learn about new games, I find myself continually impressed with new approaches to old games. For instance, the so-called Old School Renaissance is actually a rather apt name, as it is not simply a return to old sensibilities, but a reinterpretation of the foundations of the game through newly learned methodologies. It is an improvement without losing the soul of the game, or so I would argue.

13th Age has caught, my interest. It grabs you by the lapels and tells you to role play, or at least define your character in such a way that he stands out from others by description alone. I think I might see what I can learn from it and perhaps integrate this into 5th edition, though 5e already does a great job of evoking characters as people and not character classes. I only regret that these games were not around 15 years ago.

I would also like to eventually discuss my love for the Storyteller system. As I am left without a game (other than the one I am running), I consider either digging back into the Storyteller System, given the recent revisions to some of my favorite games. Even if I were to run a game, I would be happy to once again pick up a handful of d10’s with a mix of hope and fear. It’s an exciting prospect.

2 thoughts on “Lame “next week I promise” post

  1. bat October 6, 2015 / 2:19 pm

    Hang in there, it isn’t always easy to post. I’m still not sure how I did it daily for three years.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lorathorn October 13, 2015 / 4:29 pm

      It isn’t easy. I’ve been trying to stick to it, and I have a lot to say, but I’ve also been trying to pace myself. I have a lot of written non-blog material in the works, which isn’t a bad problem to have.

      Like

Leave a Reply

